Teach with your iPad

I have been on the hunt for my own iPad for my classroom for a while now. The only thing that has really stopped me is the cost. They are SO expensive. I also should mention that I am not getting one that has a plan either (only if you want 3/4G). Hopefully when I’m a member of a school board I can request one and be able to integrate it into my classroom as part of a PD project.

Ultimately I’d love to be able to have an interactive whiteboard as well as and iPad and be able to control it from where ever in the classroom. Serious dream right there! I’d also love to have a class set kicking around somewhere and have my students use apps in class to highlight activities. It would be so relevent, especially because of the recent trend with parents letting their children (ages 3+) use their own iPads/iPods. Take a look at this.

Here’s a little synopsis of the article:

• 42 percent of children under eight years of age have a TV in their bedrooms

• Half (52%) of all 0- to 8-year-olds have access to a new mobile device such as a smartphone, video iPod, or iPad/tablet.

• In a typical day, one in 10 (11%) 0- to 8-year-olds uses a smartphone, video iPod, iPad, or similar device to play games, watch videos, or use other apps. Those who do such activities spend an average of 43 minutes a day doing so.

Forty Three minutes per day! Can you even imagine?! Here’s something to use those 43 minutes to good use. Teach With Your iPad!

Leave a Reply

