Ever Called a Student Stupid? Neither Have I

Here’s a little story about what happens when a teacher calls a student stupid.

I can’t even begin to tell you what went through my mind when I read this. Most of all it was shock. Shock that anything like that would come out of a teacher’s mouth.

I highly suggest you read this and re-evaluate how you word things to students. I know that one of my new goals is to try and say everything is a positive way. For example saying “Walk to the door” instead of “Don’t run!”. It’s a small step but I think it’s a good place to start.

What are you going to do?

2 thoughts on “Ever Called a Student Stupid? Neither Have I

  1. This is so true. It’s very hard, because of course teachers are people too, and every so often we say things because we are tired or distracted that end up hurting someone’s feelings. When that happens, I like to think that I simply admit the fault and ask the student’s forgiveness, which most students are willing to give you.

    However, that particular story is disgusting. How someone can believe any of those things is ever okay to tell a child is beyond me.

  2. Thanks for sharing this!

    It’s so important that we focus on the Positive Behaviour that is wanted rather than the Negative Behaviour that isn’t. Like you said using the phrase “walk to the door” is far better than saying “don’t run” as the image you put in the students mind is one of walking rather than that of running. If I say don’t think of a pink and yellow spotted elephant, you can’t help but think of just that. The same is true of giving commands saying “walk” will leave a student with that image and they are much more likely to follow that instruction.

    Any staff member in any school who bullies, intimidates and discriminates is a disgrace to the profession and needs to be dealt with in an appropriate way. I like that fact that one of the adults in the article you linked me to was taking a class on “stopping child abuse” and I hope that that particular teacher has learned a valuable and embarrassing lesson and will never behave like this again. I believe in 2nd chances, although she will need close monitoring, let’s hope she never behaves that way again!

Leave a Reply

